Memorial wall


All the bricks have now been sponsored.

A BIG THANK YOU to all those who sponsored a brick. 

Members and volunteers of the Aber Valley Heritage Group are currently working hard to ensure the 100 year anniversary of the explosion is properly commemorated.

Plans have been underway for some time to develop a more fitting Memorial to the 521 men and boys killed in both the 1901 and 1913 disasters. This will take the form of a Memorial Wall (to include the names, age and address of each victim) and a central sculpture to reflect the sorrow of those left behind.

From feedback and consultation carried out to date the need to include as part of the design the names of all the victims has been a constant theme and therefore we already have plans to work with a ceramic artist, who will run workshops to create individual bricks. Each brick cost £50 to sponsor and will also include at the bottom the name of whoever sponsored it.

Memorial brick



A typical act of bravery took place on 17th August 1917 when Sgt Gilbert Lloyd, (Senghenydd), South Wales Borderers who, together with five others soldiers, held an isolated position until his battalion had been relieved and then brought out their wounded whilst still under fire.

He was awarded the MM at a local ceremony held on “The Rec” in August 19, 1919.  At this same ceremony where the villagers turned out in their thousands to see Colonel H E Morgan Lindsay, CB, DSO award the decorations to Sgt Lloyd and the men and also to the families of those Killed in Action (KIA). All listed below.

Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM)   Military Medal (MM)

Cpl. Tom Locke Sapper Robert Jackson

Pte. William Higgs Bdr. H C Fleet

Dvr. R G Taylor

Gnr. David Davies

Sgt. King Humphries

Pte. Syd Edwards


Distinguished Conduct Medal Military Cross (MC)

Sgt. T H Brown (KIA) Lt. J A Roberts(KIA)

(accepted by his wife) (accepted by his father)

Photo of Sgt Gilbert Lloyd


Wounded on three occasions before winning the MM in 1917.  Became a


Lieutenant in Home Guard, Aber and

and Senghenydd Platoon 1940-46.

Secretary of local Ex-Servicemen’s

Club for over 50 years.