Aber Valley Heritage Museum
Gwern Avenue
CF83 4HA
Tel: 02920 830445


sponsor a brick

Aber Valley Heritage Group Gets Grant from The Coalfields Regeneration Trust


Heritage Committee

The Aber Valley Heritage Group has successfully secured a further grant from the Coalfields Regeneration Trust.

In December 2014 the group received £5,000 towards the continued employment of the Museum’s part time Project Co-ordinator.

This follows a previous grant from The Coalfields Regeneration Trust of £10,000 in 2013 which contributed to the cost of the ‘Pathway of Memory’ at the Memorial Garden.

The ‘Pathway of Memory’ details every disaster which has taken place in Welsh coal mining history, giving the name of the colliery, the dates of any disasters and the number killed.

Coalfields Regeneration Trust logo


A typical act of bravery took place on 17th August 1917 when Sgt Gilbert Lloyd, (Senghenydd), South Wales Borderers who, together with five others soldiers, held an isolated position until his battalion had been relieved and then brought out their wounded whilst still under fire.

He was awarded the MM at a local ceremony held on “The Rec” in August 19, 1919.  At this same ceremony where the villagers turned out in their thousands to see Colonel H E Morgan Lindsay, CB, DSO award the decorations to Sgt Lloyd and the men and also to the families of those Killed in Action (KIA). All listed below.

Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM)   Military Medal (MM)

Cpl. Tom Locke Sapper Robert Jackson

Pte. William Higgs Bdr. H C Fleet

Dvr. R G Taylor

Gnr. David Davies

Sgt. King Humphries

Pte. Syd Edwards


Distinguished Conduct Medal Military Cross (MC)

Sgt. T H Brown (KIA) Lt. J A Roberts(KIA)

(accepted by his wife) (accepted by his father)

Photo of Sgt Gilbert Lloyd


Wounded on three occasions before winning the MM in 1917.  Became a


Lieutenant in Home Guard, Aber and

and Senghenydd Platoon 1940-46.

Secretary of local Ex-Servicemen’s

Club for over 50 years.