Council donates £50,000 to mining memorial appeal


The Senghenydd National Mining Memorial fund has been bolstered by Caerphilly County Borough Council's decision to donate £50,000 towards the ambitious appeal.

At a meeting of Special Cabinet on Tuesday 15th January, Members agreed to the donation, which will assist the Aber Valley Heritage Group in their plans towards erecting a Welsh National Mining Memorial on the site of the worst mining disaster in British history.

The Universal Colliery in Senghenydd was struck by a destructive explosion in 1913, claiming the lives of 440 men and boys. To mark the centenary in October this year, the Aber Valley Heritage Group has ambitious plans to create a memorial to honour all the men who have lost their lives in Welsh coal mines.

Cllr Harry Andrews, Leader of Caerphilly County Borough Council, explained, "Honouring and remembering the men and boys who perished across Wales in coal mines is of paramount importance to us, with Senghenydd the obvious choice as a location, due to the rich mining heritage that is ingrained into the people who live there. The memorial will provide a priceless and fitting tribute to all the colliery workers who have lost their lives in the mines."

The Mining Memorial will consist of a remembrance wall featuring all the names of the men and boys who died in the 1913 and the 1901 explosions at Universal Colliery, a pathway of memory to all mining disasters in Wales, and a bronze sculpture as the centrepiece to the memorial.

The council has assisted the Aber Valley Heritage Group in develop this website.


A typical act of bravery took place on 17th August 1917 when Sgt Gilbert Lloyd, (Senghenydd), South Wales Borderers who, together with five others soldiers, held an isolated position until his battalion had been relieved and then brought out their wounded whilst still under fire.

He was awarded the MM at a local ceremony held on “The Rec” in August 19, 1919.  At this same ceremony where the villagers turned out in their thousands to see Colonel H E Morgan Lindsay, CB, DSO award the decorations to Sgt Lloyd and the men and also to the families of those Killed in Action (KIA). All listed below.

Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM)   Military Medal (MM)

Cpl. Tom Locke Sapper Robert Jackson

Pte. William Higgs Bdr. H C Fleet

Dvr. R G Taylor

Gnr. David Davies

Sgt. King Humphries

Pte. Syd Edwards


Distinguished Conduct Medal Military Cross (MC)

Sgt. T H Brown (KIA) Lt. J A Roberts(KIA)

(accepted by his wife) (accepted by his father)

Photo of Sgt Gilbert Lloyd


Wounded on three occasions before winning the MM in 1917.  Became a


Lieutenant in Home Guard, Aber and

and Senghenydd Platoon 1940-46.

Secretary of local Ex-Servicemen’s

Club for over 50 years.