Aber Valley Heritage Museum
Gwern Avenue
CF83 4HA
Tel: 02920 830445


sponsor a brick

Miners reunite for worthy cause


Ex-miners and their families will gather together next week to raise money for the National Mining Memorial that is due to be unveiled in Senghenydd later this year.

In an afternoon of fun, food and entertainment at the 'Buffs' club in Abertridwr on Thursday 27th June, ex-miners and their dependants will be joined by all-round entertainer, Owen Money, and Roy Noble MBE, who will be broadcasting for BBC Wales live from the event!

All proceeds from the event will be donated to the National Mining Memorial Project, which will see a fitting tribute to miners erected on the former site of the Universal Colliery in Senghenydd, where the largest British mining disaster shattered the community in 1913.

The National Mining Memorial will feature a memorial wall remembering the 521 men and boys who perished in both the 1913 and 1901 disasters at the site as well as a central and striking bronze statue.

Money is still being raised for a memorial walk and a landscaped garden at the site, which will remember all Welsh mining disasters on record.

The event has been planned collaboratively between The Aber Valley Heritage Group and the Coal Industry Social Welfare Organisation.

For more information about the plans for the National Mining Memorial please call 02920 830445 / 02920 830444.


A typical act of bravery took place on 17th August 1917 when Sgt Gilbert Lloyd, (Senghenydd), South Wales Borderers who, together with five others soldiers, held an isolated position until his battalion had been relieved and then brought out their wounded whilst still under fire.

He was awarded the MM at a local ceremony held on “The Rec” in August 19, 1919.  At this same ceremony where the villagers turned out in their thousands to see Colonel H E Morgan Lindsay, CB, DSO award the decorations to Sgt Lloyd and the men and also to the families of those Killed in Action (KIA). All listed below.

Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM)   Military Medal (MM)

Cpl. Tom Locke Sapper Robert Jackson

Pte. William Higgs Bdr. H C Fleet

Dvr. R G Taylor

Gnr. David Davies

Sgt. King Humphries

Pte. Syd Edwards


Distinguished Conduct Medal Military Cross (MC)

Sgt. T H Brown (KIA) Lt. J A Roberts(KIA)

(accepted by his wife) (accepted by his father)

Photo of Sgt Gilbert Lloyd


Wounded on three occasions before winning the MM in 1917.  Became a


Lieutenant in Home Guard, Aber and

and Senghenydd Platoon 1940-46.

Secretary of local Ex-Servicemen’s

Club for over 50 years.