Moving and melodic evening for Mining Memorial


Pit Head wheelBlackwood Miners' Institute will host an evening of entertainment on Saturday 5th October to raise funds for the National Mining Memorial in Senghenydd.

The 100th anniversary of the largest mining disaster in British History is fast approaching, which will be honoured by the unveiling of a National Mining Memorial on the former site of the Universal Colliery.

The concert will feature a musical medley of entertainment from a host of well known local names including Boyd Clack, Dan and Laura Curtis, Jamie Pugh, Kirsten Jones, Mark Llewelyn Evans, Serin and Tom Crow. There will also be musical styling's from the Caerphilly Community Choir and Children's Choir.

All money raised through the concert will help fund the tribute to the 440 men and boys who perished when an explosion ripped through the Universal Colliery on October 14th 1913 and the 81 colliery workers who died at an earlier explosion in the mine in 1901.

The memorial will feature a striking bronze statue, a memorial wall naming all those who died at both of the disasters, a landscape garden and a memorial walk which will feature tiles highlighting all the Welsh mining disasters recorded where 5 or more men lost their lives.

Tickets for the Senghenydd Memorial Concert are £12 and £10 for concessions and are available by calling the Box Office on 01495 227206 or by going to


A typical act of bravery took place on 17th August 1917 when Sgt Gilbert Lloyd, (Senghenydd), South Wales Borderers who, together with five others soldiers, held an isolated position until his battalion had been relieved and then brought out their wounded whilst still under fire.

He was awarded the MM at a local ceremony held on “The Rec” in August 19, 1919.  At this same ceremony where the villagers turned out in their thousands to see Colonel H E Morgan Lindsay, CB, DSO award the decorations to Sgt Lloyd and the men and also to the families of those Killed in Action (KIA). All listed below.

Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM)   Military Medal (MM)

Cpl. Tom Locke Sapper Robert Jackson

Pte. William Higgs Bdr. H C Fleet

Dvr. R G Taylor

Gnr. David Davies

Sgt. King Humphries

Pte. Syd Edwards


Distinguished Conduct Medal Military Cross (MC)

Sgt. T H Brown (KIA) Lt. J A Roberts(KIA)

(accepted by his wife) (accepted by his father)

Photo of Sgt Gilbert Lloyd


Wounded on three occasions before winning the MM in 1917.  Became a


Lieutenant in Home Guard, Aber and

and Senghenydd Platoon 1940-46.

Secretary of local Ex-Servicemen’s

Club for over 50 years.