Senghenydd Mining Memorial Fundraiser


Rick O'SheaAbertridwr RAOB Club will play host to a rugby themed fundraising evening on Wednesday 26th September, in aid of the first ever Welsh National Mining Memorial in Senghenydd.

Welsh rugby broadcaster Rick O'Shea will lead the evening's events from 7.30pm, along with special guests, Welsh rugby icons Martyn Williams and Nigel Owens.

In total, 440 men and boys lost their lives as a result of a huge explosion at the Universal Colliery site in 1913; a tragedy that affected almost every household in the community.

The Aber Valley Heritage Group have developed plans to erect a poignant and symbolic landmark memorial close to the former mining site to mark the 100th anniversary of the disaster. Dedicated to all mining communities across Wales, it will include a wall of remembrance, landscaped garden and a statue as a focus of respect.

The First Minister of Wales, Carwyn Jones AM, helped launch the appeal in June of this year however with a total project cost of over £250,000 there remains a shortfall in funding. The Heritage Group have raised over £60,000 for the memorial so far, with the help of the Heritage Lottery Fund, Caerphilly County Borough Council, local Community Councils and public sponsorship.

Tickets for the event at Abertridwr RAOB Club are available at £5 including buffet, and all proceeds will go to the Universal Memorial Fund.

For tickets please contact RAOB Club on 029 20 831 439 or The Aber Valley Heritage Group on 02920 830444/5 or e-mail

For more information about the rich heritage of the Aber Valley please go to


A typical act of bravery took place on 17th August 1917 when Sgt Gilbert Lloyd, (Senghenydd), South Wales Borderers who, together with five others soldiers, held an isolated position until his battalion had been relieved and then brought out their wounded whilst still under fire.

He was awarded the MM at a local ceremony held on “The Rec” in August 19, 1919.  At this same ceremony where the villagers turned out in their thousands to see Colonel H E Morgan Lindsay, CB, DSO award the decorations to Sgt Lloyd and the men and also to the families of those Killed in Action (KIA). All listed below.

Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM)   Military Medal (MM)

Cpl. Tom Locke Sapper Robert Jackson

Pte. William Higgs Bdr. H C Fleet

Dvr. R G Taylor

Gnr. David Davies

Sgt. King Humphries

Pte. Syd Edwards


Distinguished Conduct Medal Military Cross (MC)

Sgt. T H Brown (KIA) Lt. J A Roberts(KIA)

(accepted by his wife) (accepted by his father)

Photo of Sgt Gilbert Lloyd


Wounded on three occasions before winning the MM in 1917.  Became a


Lieutenant in Home Guard, Aber and

and Senghenydd Platoon 1940-46.

Secretary of local Ex-Servicemen’s

Club for over 50 years.