Aber Valley Heritage Museum
Gwern Avenue
CF83 4HA
Tel: 02920 830445


sponsor a brick

Passchendale 1917

Passchendale 31 July 1917- 10 November 1917

For 100 years the third battle of Ypres, more commonly known as Passchendale, has symbolised the horror, slaughter and futility of the First World War.

Over a period of 111 days thousands of British and Commonwealth troops fighting knee deep in mud and water were sacrificed often for what were useless gains around the town of Ypres in Flanders, Western Belgium.

Just 4 years after the explosion at the Universal Colliery Senghenydd when 439 men were killed, men from the Aber valley continued to fight on the Western Front. The Aber Valley Heritage Group would like, 100 years on, to remember the men of the Aber Valley who lost their lives at Ypres. These men are remembered on the cenotaph on Senghenydd Square and on the Abertridwr memorial housed in Nazareth Chapel Thomas Street Abertridwr.

They were:-

  1. Sergeant T A Brown D.G.M. of the 16th Royal Welsh Fusiliers 24436 died 5 August 1917. Honoured at the Ypres Memorial Belgium, and from 24, Cenydd Terrace Senghenydd
  2. Lance Corporal T J Crook of the East Surrey Regiment 4179, died 23 July 1917. Honoured at the Ypres Memorial Belgium and from 4 Park Place Senghenydd
  3. Private G Smith of the Royal Welsh Fusiliers 70399, died 31 October 1917. Buried at Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery Belgium, and from 16 Stanley Street Senghenydd
  4. Bomber W Clarke of the 7 th Army Brigade RFA 13455, died 12 October 1917. Buried Minty Farm Cemetery Ypres Belgium and from Abertridwr
  5. Sergeant D R Griffiths of the Royal Welsh Fusiliers 15005, died 26 September 1917. Buried at Tyne Cot Cemetery Ypres Belgium and from Abertridwr
  6. Lance Corporal J Jones of the South Lancs. Regiment 12470, died 23 September 1917. Honoured at Tyne Cot Memorial Ypres Belgium and from 15 Aberfawr Terrace Abertridwr
  7. Private J H Stagg of the 8th Company of the Welsh Regiment 35186, died 1 August 1917. Honoured at Ypres Memorial Belgium and from Abertridwr.


A typical act of bravery took place on 17th August 1917 when Sgt Gilbert Lloyd, (Senghenydd), South Wales Borderers who, together with five others soldiers, held an isolated position until his battalion had been relieved and then brought out their wounded whilst still under fire.

He was awarded the MM at a local ceremony held on “The Rec” in August 19, 1919.  At this same ceremony where the villagers turned out in their thousands to see Colonel H E Morgan Lindsay, CB, DSO award the decorations to Sgt Lloyd and the men and also to the families of those Killed in Action (KIA). All listed below.

Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM)   Military Medal (MM)

Cpl. Tom Locke Sapper Robert Jackson

Pte. William Higgs Bdr. H C Fleet

Dvr. R G Taylor

Gnr. David Davies

Sgt. King Humphries

Pte. Syd Edwards


Distinguished Conduct Medal Military Cross (MC)

Sgt. T H Brown (KIA) Lt. J A Roberts(KIA)

(accepted by his wife) (accepted by his father)

Photo of Sgt Gilbert Lloyd


Wounded on three occasions before winning the MM in 1917.  Became a


Lieutenant in Home Guard, Aber and

and Senghenydd Platoon 1940-46.

Secretary of local Ex-Servicemen’s

Club for over 50 years.