About the council


The Local Government Act, 1972, heralded significant changes for local government in Wales.
As a consequence of the legislation the Boundary Commission was established and its first task was a special community review which led to a re-casting of the existing pattern of Rural Parishes, Urban Districts and Boroughs all of which would become communities under the new structure to produce a pattern better fitted to support Community Councils. →


In 1985, the Boundary Commission created 14 community areas in the Rhymney Valley District.  This led to the formation of Bargoed Town Council. The community area, now covered by the Town Council, includes four wards with its own representatives.  The wards being Aberbargoed (4 councillors), Bargoed (5 councillors), Gilfach (2 councillors) and the Park (2 councillors).


In May 2012 elections took place and a new administration took over.

The full council meet once a month.Members of the community are able to attend these meetings but unless pre arranged, as means of observation only.

The council support many organisations within our area in the form of funds to individual organisations within the community, this is granted on the basis that the grant is of direct benefit to the inhabitants of the Town Councils area. →

The Town Council are also keen partners to Caerphilly County Borough Council in bringing events to Bargoed Town. Examples would be our Annual Firework Display, Open Air Cinema showings and our Christmas events such as the ice-rink.  The Town Council also supports local organisations.

If you belong to a local organisation and require financial support please download a grant application form here


    Standing Orders
Code of Conduct
Financial Regulations

    Policy Documents
Health and Safety Policy
Complaints Policy and Procedure
    Publication Scheme