Mayor's Charity


Each May a Mayor is elected to serve the Council. It is the Mayors role to chair council meetings and along with the Clerk and Leader ensure smooth running of the council office and business, also to raise funds for their chosen charities.

Members wish to congratulate Councillor Reg Carroll who became Mayor of Bargoed during the meeting in May. 

The Mayor welcomes invitations to attend events held.  

If you know anyone celebrating their Golden or Diamond Wedding Anniversaries or 100th Birthday celebrations please let the council clerk know on 01443 830184 or via email

Since 2004 the Mayors of Bargoed Town Council have raised over £25,000 for charities, many of which are local.

It is through the hard work and determination of the Mayor and fellow council members that this has been made possible, and an enormous Thank You goes to every member of public and business who has helped in raising funds for these wonderful causes.


Past Mayors

2019/2020  Councillor Reg Carroll

2018/2019  Councillor Alan Higgs

2017/2018  Councillor Susan Horton

2016/2017  Councillor Tudor Davies

2015/2016  Councillor Susan Hamer-Thomas

2014/2015  Councillor Howard Llewelyn

2013/2014 Councillor Allan Higgs raised £1165 for New CLURV and Churches in action. 

2012/2013 Councillor David Morgan, £1182.00 for Young @ Heart and Tarragan

2011/2012 Councillor Vivienne Stephens, £4571.22 raised for Home-Start and Gigibites.

2010/2011 Councillor Howard Llewellyn, raised £2429.05 for New CLURV and The Army Benevolent Fund.

2009/2010 Councillor Dianne Price, raised £3610 for LATCH and Aberbargoed Hospital League of Friends.

2008/2009 Councillor DT Davies, raised £4100 for Cancer Research Cancer Committee.

2007/2008 Councillor Josephine Bissex, raised over £2300 for CLURV (Cancer Link Upper Rhymney Valley).