The council consists of elected 16 Community Councillors.

The monthly full Council Meeting normally takes place on the first Monday of each month ( excluding August ). If the meeting falls on a Bank Holiday, meetings are then held on the Second Monday.

Meetings normally commence at 6.30pm. and are held at the Blackwood Miners’ Institute.

Members of the public are able to attend the meetings on an observation only basis. The current council was elected in May 2017.

Click here to view Members' Register of Interests 2016/17 (PDF)


Cllr. Gerwyn James
Telephone: 07552994823

Click here for a list of past Mayors (PDF)

Deputy Mayor

Cllr. Janet Griffiths
Telephone: 07982 711708

Blackwood South

Zoe Hammond (Plaid Cymru)
Telephone: 07449489453

Rhys Mills (Plaid Cymru)
Telephone: 07516426942

Trefor Evans ( Independent)

Blackwood Central

James (Jim) Edwards (Independent)
Telephone: 07564 065430

Mark Gwynne (Labour)
Telephone: 01495 225631

Darren Jones (Plaid Cymru)
Telephone: 07933 997658

Andrew Short (Plaid Cymru)
Telephone: 07980 001171 

Blackwood North

Carol Erasmus (Plaid Cymru)
Telephone: 01495 224726

Janet Griffiths (Labour)
Telephone: 07982 711708

Jan Weeks (Independent)
Telephone: 01495 228480

Robert Weeks (Independent)
Telephone: 01495 228480

Cefn Fforest East

Andrew Farina-Childs (Independent)
Telephone: 01443 837780

Delwyn Davies (Independent)
Telephone: 07943495869

Gerwyn James (Independent)
Telephone: 07464 090897

Noel Turner (Plaid Cymru)
Telephone: 01443 879220

Pat Cook (Labour)
Telephone: 01495 225164