Caerphilly Town Council
The Twyn Community Centre
The Twyn
CF83 1JL

Office hours

Monday – Wednesday

9.30am to 12.30pm

Email -

Tel: 02920 888777

Tywn Community Centre - bookings

Email -

Tel: 07972 548 428

About Us

The Birth of Caerphilly Town Council

The Local Government Act, 1972, heralded significant changes for local government in Wales.

As a consequence of the legislation the Boundary Commission was established and its first task was a special community review which led to a re-casting of the existing pattern of Rural Parishes, Urban Districts and Boroughs all of which would become communities under the new structure to produce a pattern better fitted to support Community Councils.

In 1985, the Boundary Commission created 14 community areas in the Rhymney Valley District.  This led to the formation of Caerphilly Town Council.  The community area, now covered by the Town Council, includes the wards with its own representatives.  These are Morgan Jones Ward with 5 members and St Martin's Ward with 7 members.

The full council meet once a month (apart from August and December) and agendas and minutes can be found here.

All Town Council Meetings are open to the press and public but the public are only allowed to speak at the meeting if pre-arranged with the Town Mayor.

The Town Council provides financial support to local organisations providing their members live within the Town Council area. To apply for a grant please download the application form and return it to the Town Clerk at the Twyn Community Centre, Caerphilly CF83 1JL