Welcome and thank you for visiting the Darran Valley Community Council website. We hope you find it interesting and of interest..

Darran Valley Community Council is located at the upper-most part of the Rhmney Valley within the Caerphilly County Borough.

The Council represents and serves three small rural communities in South East Wales: Deri, Fochriw and Pentwyn.

These settlements grew around the Industrial Age to serve the collieries of Fochriw, Pencarreg and Groesfaen.

It is with great pleasure that I can announce that the Community Council will not be raising its precept for the next financial year, (2019-20). This is money that comes from you the Council Tax payer via Caerphilly County Borough Council.

The Community Council of 9 elected councillors meets regularly on the first Thursday of the month at Parc Cwm Darran Vistors Centre, Deri, Bargoed.

Should you have any suggestion for improving or additions to the website then please get in touch with our Clerk, Geraint, who will be happy to discuss new ideas, 

Meeting dates

All meetings are open to the public. Find out when the next meeting is.


Oakdale Brass Band

News & Events

Latest news and events from the Darran Valley.